RRN Rasuwa-Bhotekoshi Flood Consolidated Summary 10 September 2026

Geographic Coverage

Budget

Project Status

Target Groups

and Beneficiaries

Funding Partners

Rasuwa–Bhotekoshi Flood: Consolidated Status Summary 

Internal / Partner Situation Summary • Data as of 19:00, 10 September 2026 (Bhadra 25, 2083) Sources: (1) NDRRMA Response Situation Report #20 (प्रतिकार्यस्थिति प्रतिवेदन #२०), issued in Nepali,  as of 19:00, Bhadra 25, 2083 (10 September 2026), including its embedded evening dashboard; (2) a  separate English-language NDRRMA dashboard, “Search, Rescue and Relief Update”, as of 11:00,  10 September 2026; (3) RRN Consolidated Status Summary of 9 September 2026, used as the day on-day baseline.  

Note on figures: all numbers are provisional and government-published. Today’s primary report is in  Nepali; figures and quotations below reflect RRN’s translation and should be read as a close  paraphrase rather than an official English text. 

  1. What happened 

Two genuine pieces of good news lead today’s report. The Devighat bridge ambiguity flagged in  every report since 6 September is resolved: today’s text explicitly names it as “the 60-metre Acrow  Bridge (Acrow Bridge / Bailey bridge)”, confirms installation is complete, and the bridge is now  operational — the two descriptions tracked separately for five days were the same structure.  Separately, the Rasuwa alternative route via Dhikure and the Pasang Lhamu Highway, which had  gone five consecutive rounds with no resumption date after an initial “tomorrow” projection, is now  reported as carrying traffic. The Krishnabhir obstruction on the Prithvi Highway also gains its first  government-stated target date: construction has been intensified with the explicit aim of restoring  traffic within the month of Bhadra (by approximately 17 September).  

A new hydropower site appears for the first time: a body was recovered approximately 50 metres  inside the tunnel of a project named “Rasuwa Bhotekoshi Hydropower Project”, distinct from the  seven sites tracked since early September. Because “Rasuwa–Bhotekoshi” is also the name used for  the disaster as a whole, this may be a genuinely new site only now being searched, or a naming  variant of an existing one; it should be clarified before being added permanently to the site list.  Several international teams appear to be concluding specific taskings and standing down — a UAE  team returned to Kathmandu after finding nothing at a named office site in Mailung, an Australian  team returned to Trishuli after a negative drone search at Timure, and a newly named Malaysian  team mapped flood damage at Syafrubesi market before returning to Trishuli.  

Two notable data-quality problems recur today. The hospital facility table in Section 5.2 is a  verbatim, unedited carry-over from 9 September — it still sums to 333, while the Highlights and 

dashboard both report 337 treated — so the itemised table should not be read as current. And the  evening dashboard’s fuel-stock box (diesel 17,000 L, petrol 5,000 L, aviation fuel 42,000 L) is  inconsistent with both the morning dashboard and the narrative Electricity section, which agree with  each other at diesel 48,000 L / petrol 22,000 L / aviation fuel 9,000 L; the evening dashboard figure  looks like a data entry error and should not be used. See Section 7.  

The Communications, Agriculture and Education sections, all absent on 9 September, return today  with substantial new detail. The Women/Children Protection sector and the Camp Coordination and  Camp Management section, both prominent on 9 September, are absent today — the fourth and fifth  sections in this series to disappear and reappear between rounds. The oral cholera vaccination  campaign, whose 21,000 doses arrived in Rasuwa on 6 September, is reported as formally launched  today, four days after arrival.  

  1. Headline Figures — Two Rounds Today Against Yesterday 
Indicator  9 Sep, 19:00  10 Sep, 11:00  10 Sep, 19:00
Bodies recovered  1,369  1,377  1,377 (unchanged all day)
Missing / out of contact  5,132  5,130  5,130 (unchanged)
— raw sum of categories  5,234  5,234 (unchanged)  5,234 (unchanged)
— less identified bodies  −102  −104  −104
Hospital-treated patients (headline)  333  not given  337
— discharged  256  –  261
— under treatment / referred  42 / 31  –  40 / 32
Total rescued to date  13,646  13,656  13,676
Helicopter flights, cumulative  1,348  1,348 (unchanged)  1,407 (+59 today)
APF flights in affected areas  258  272  199 — see note
Security personnel deployed  21,185  21,063  21,022
— Nepal Army component  9,007  8,885  8,844
Cash relief released (total)  NPR 160 million  NPR 160 million  NPR 160 million  

(unchanged)

People in holding centres  3,395 (34 centres)  3,390+ (37 centres)  3,547 (35 centres)

 

Deaths, the raw missing-persons components, and security personnel by force were all identical  between the 11:00 and 19:00 rounds except where noted, indicating the two dashboards share a  common data pull for most fields and diverge chiefly on rescue, holding-centre and fuel figures.  Nepal Army personnel deployed continued its now five-day decline, down 163 since 9 September,  while Nepal Police and APF held flat throughout.  

  1. Human Casualties
District  9 Sep, 19:00  10 Sep (both rounds)  Change
Chitwan  363  364  +1
Nawalparasi East  227  228  +1
Nawalparasi West  222  222 
Nuwakot  198  198 

 

District  9 Sep, 19:00  10 Sep (both rounds)  Change
Rasuwa  174  178  +4
Gorkha  75  77  +2
Dhading  70  70 
Tanahun  38  38 
During treatment at Kathmandu 
Total (as stated)  1,369  1,377  +8

 

District figures are identical at 11:00 and 19:00, indicating no new recoveries were recorded during  the day itself; the total moved once, overnight, between the two reports. Rasuwa again accounts for  the largest share of new recoveries.  

  1. Missing / Out of Contact 

The raw category totals are unchanged from 9 September — Nuwakot 1,787, Rasuwa 2,860  (including the same 181 in named institutional categories), foreign nationals 587, summing to  5,234 — so today’s fall in the headline figure comes entirely from the identified-bodies deduction  rising from 102 to 104. This deduction step, introduced yesterday, continues today; whether the 104  figure is the same metric as the “identified bodies handed to families” figure last given a standalone  box on 8 September (at 102) is not stated, and the two should be treated as possibly related but not  confirmed identical.  

  1. Injured and Hospital Treatment 

5.1 Daily and Intraday Comparison 

Component  9 Sep, 19:00  10 Sep, 19:00
Hospital-treated patients (headline)  333  337 (+4)
— discharged  256  261
— under treatment  42  40
— referred  31  32
— deaths during treatment  4
Nepal Army medical treatment, cumulative  3,535  3,559
APF medical treatment, cumulative  3,606  3,759

 

5.2 Treatment by Health Facility — table is stale, not updated today 

The facility-level table published with SitRep #20 is identical, row for row, to the table  published on 9 September, and sums to 333 — not the 337 given in today’s Highlights and  dashboard. Under-treatment and referred totals implied by the table (42 and 31) also do not match  today’s headline figures (40 and 32). This table should be treated as a carried-over placeholder rather  than current data; RRN has not reproduced it again here since it adds no new information beyond the  9 September summary already circulated.  

5.3 Health Sector 

  • 147 personnel across 34 Emergency Medical Teams have treated 7,170 people to date — compares  to 146 personnel across 13 teams and 6,809 patients on 9 September. The team count nearly tripled 

in one day; this is more likely a correction or a broader recount than genuine new deployment, and  should not be read as 21 new teams arriving overnight.  

  • The Oral Cholera Vaccine campaign, whose 21,000 doses arrived in Rasuwa on 6 September, is  reported as launched today, targeting the at-risk population given the elevated risk of waterborne  disease following the flood — the first confirmation that vaccination has actually begun, four days  after the doses arrived.  
  • Insecticide spraying has been conducted around Nuwakot holding centres for vector control.  • A 22-member team including 5 psychiatrists has provided psychosocial counselling to  approximately 2,000 people in Nuwakot to date. This team and its 5-psychiatrist composition were  first reported on 4 September, when its cumulative reach stood at approximately 740; today’s 2,000  appears to be the same team’s continuing cumulative count, distinct from the separate psychosocial  figures given in the Health Sector narrative on 7–9 September and from the Protection sector’s 3,198  on 9 September. At least three non-reconciled psychosocial-reach figures have now appeared in this  series; none should be added to another.  
  1. Search and Rescue at Hydropower Project Sites 
Project  Today’s activity
Rasuwagadhi (120 MW)  CQRT and project representatives reached the Powerhouse,  Transformer Room and Control Point; nothing found. A joint team of 5  Nepal Army and 4 Australian SAR personnel also searched and  returned.
Rasuwa Bhotekoshi Hydropower  Project (new site — see caveat  above) Entered approximately 50 metres into the tunnel; one body recovered.
Langtang (20 MW)  A 25-member Nepal Army team searched inside the tunnel; nothing  found. Work continues.
Chilime (22 MW)  A joint team of 30 Nepal Army and 20 Indian Army personnel  (including NDRF) searched the tunnel; nothing found. Blasting of a  rocky section to permit heavy-equipment transport has begun, and the  access-road track to the site is now complete — up from 50 metres  remaining on 9 September.
Upper Trishuli-1 (216 MW)  A 5-member Nepal Army team searched Audit Tunnel 1 at Hakubeshi;  nothing found. This is a different tunnel from Audit Tunnel 3, where a  body was recovered on 9 September; that recovery is not restated  today and remains the last reported finding at this site.
Mailung Khola (5 MW)  Drone reconnaissance conducted; work continuing.
Trishuli 3-A (60 MW)  A joint team of 35 Nepal Army, 11 Nepal Police, 10 APF and project  representatives searched the tunnel and powerhouse area; nothing  found.
Trishuli 3-B (37 MW)  A large joint team — 89 Nepal Army, 4 Nepal Police, 10 APF and  project representatives — is deployed. The 10-by-11-metre excavation  pit and the approximately 4-foot beam and bricks found at 11 metres,  both first reported 9 September, are restated; excavation continues. A  4-person team (1 Nepal Army, 3 Australian SAR) conducted terrain  mapping.

 

International teams concluding specific taskings 

  • A joint 1 Nepal Army / 8 UAE team conducted reconnaissance at the named location of a Power  China office in Mailung; finding nothing, the team returned to Kathmandu.  
  • A joint 1 Nepal Army / 4 Australian team searched the Timure area using an AVATA drone; finding  nothing, the team returned to Trishuli. 
  • A joint 1 Nepal Army / 10 Malaysian team mapped a 2-kilometre flood-affected section of  Syafrubesi market before returning to Trishuli — Malaysia is a sixth international partner named in  this series, after China, Korea, India, the UAE and Australia.  
  • Read together, these three stood-down taskings suggest the international SAR presence is  beginning to conclude in areas that have returned no findings, even as new activity continues at sites  still producing results.  

Other search and clearance activity 

  • Debris clearance using excavators, backhoe loaders and tippers continues at Devighat (3 of each),  Dhungge (3 excavators, 2 backhoe loaders, 2 tippers) and Galchhi (2 excavators, 1 tipper).  • Of 20 damaged suspension bridges needing repair, 5 are under repair and 15 are in preparation;  new construction has also begun at Trishuli–Buddha Gumba.  
  • Tuin (rope crossing) restoration continued on Bhadra 25: materials were transported by Nepal  Army air transport to Dhunche and then overland to Syaprubeshi, for installation at the Chilime  hydropower area.  
  1. Access, Infrastructure and Communications 

Roads and Bridges 

  • Devighat Bridge, resolved: today’s text names it explicitly as the 60-metre Acrow Bridge / Bailey  bridge, confirms installation is complete, and reports it is now operational. This closes the ambiguity  carried since 6 September between an “Acrow Bridge” tracked by bay count and a separately  described “55–75-metre Bailey bridge” tracked by transport and construction status — they were the  same structure.  
  • Krishnabhir (Prithvi Highway): still fully obstructed by toe cutting, 250-metre hillside track open  with widening ongoing, but the government has for the first time stated a target — construction has  been intensified with the explicit aim of restoring traffic within the month of Bhadra (by  approximately 17 September). The Fisling–Benighat alternative route remains “about to start”,  unchanged for a sixth day.  
  • Rasuwa alternative route via Dhikure and the Pasang Lhamu Highway: after five consecutive  rounds with no resumption date, traffic is now reported as operating on this route, under continuing  repair by the Road Division.  
  • Kolphu Bridge (Galchhi–Devighat section): one-lane vehicle movement is now operating  following basic repair — an advance on yesterday’s “assessment complete, repair initiated”.  • Bidur–Betrawati: 9.2 of 10 kilometres clear, up marginally from 9.1 kilometres yesterday; 0.9  kilometres remain washed away with 0.5 kilometres of hard-rock cutting in progress.  • New damage disclosed: roads connecting Wards 1, 2 and 3 of Uttargaya Rural Municipality are  fully damaged, as is the Betrawati–Mailung section of the Galchhi–Trishuli–Mailung–Syafrubeshi– Rasuwagadhi road.  
  • All other named road sections — Devighat–Dhunge, Dhunge–Trishuli, the three Kathmandu  alternative routes, the Tribhuvan Highway, the Dhading connecting route, and the Trishuli River  right-bank section — are unchanged from 9 September.  

Electricity and Fuel — internal contradiction in today’s fuel figures 

The narrative Electricity and Energy section and the 11:00 dashboard agree exactly: Nuwakot  fuel stock at diesel 48,000 L, petrol 22,000 L, aviation fuel 9,000 L. The separate evening (19:00)  dashboard instead shows diesel 17,000 L, petrol 5,000 L, aviation fuel 42,000 L — a different figure  for every category, with the largest and smallest values effectively swapped. Because two  independently sourced figures (the narrative text and the morning dashboard) agree with each other, 

the evening dashboard’s numbers should be treated as an error and not cited.  • Rasuwa: 78 per cent of households have restored electricity supply, unchanged from the figure  carried since 5 September; Dhading and Nuwakot electricity service is described as returning to  normal.  

  • New and concerning: Uttargaya Ward 1, Rasuwa district, has electricity service fully disrupted and  telephone/mobile network down — the first ward-level total blackout named in this series.  • Betrawati area: some households still await electrification; pole-installation work continues from  Rasuwa district.  

Communications Sector — returns, with a first for Rasuwa 

  • Nepal Telecom 117 of 120 towers and Ncell 76 of 78 remain unchanged, static since 5 September.  • A satellite internet terminal is being installed today at the APF camp in Timure, Rasuwa.  • New: private ISPs have restored service in Dhunche, the Rasuwa district headquarters — the first  Rasuwa location reported restored in this series, after every prior round noted “no Rasuwa  restoration listed”. Nuwakot and Dhading restorations are otherwise unchanged from prior rounds,  and Betrawati is added to the Dhading list.  
  • The same three Free Wi-Fi sites (Bhairum Secondary School, Chandrajyoti Secondary School,  Trishuli Holding Center) remain active, unchanged.  
  1. Water, Sanitation and Hygiene 

Restated largely unchanged from 9 September: three KUKL/KVWSMB tankers (two of 6,000 L, one  of 9,000 L) in regular use; 45.55 km of pipe dispatched to Dhading and 17 km to Nuwakot, restoring  25 systems in Dhading, 24 in Nuwakot and 8 in Rasuwa; water-quality testing continuing; and clean  water management ongoing at all Nuwakot holding centres. Schools used as shelters continue to  receive WASH facility support alongside educational material management.  

  1. Agriculture and Livestock Protection — returns after one day’s absence • 700 affected and at-risk households have received emergency food assistance alongside veterinary  medicines and disinfectants distributed across Rasuwa, Nuwakot, Dhading and Tanahun — figures  consistent with those first reported 7–8 September.  
  • Data collection on damaged agriculture and livestock, and detailed loss assessment, are described  as ongoing, without further figures given.  
  1. Education Sector — returns with new detail 
  • 3 Temporary Learning Centres have been established for fully damaged schools.  • 7 educational/learning kits (ECD) distributed: 3 in Bidur Municipality, 4 across Galchhi and  Benighat Rorang Rural Municipality.  
  • 19 school kits with necessary materials distributed to teachers.  
  • 860 student kits distributed to children: 607 in Galchhi and Benighat Rorang, 253 across Gajuri,  Galchhi and Bidur.  
  • 6 schools in Dhading that did not require a Temporary Learning Centre have had debris cleared  from their premises and resumed operation.  
  • 50 children at Success Academy, Galchhi, have received psychosocial support and counselling.  
  1. Relief Distribution, Cash Support and Holding Centres 

Cash Relief (unchanged for a tenth consecutive round)

Recipient  Figure
Rasuwa  NPR 10 million

 

Recipient  Figure
Nuwakot  NPR 10 million
Dhading  NPR 5 million
15 affected local governments  NPR 135 million
Total  NPR 160 million (~USD 1,049,900)

 

Holding Centres — volatile within the day 

District  9 Sep, 19:00  10 Sep, 11:00  10 Sep, 19:00
Rasuwa  775 (9 centres)  775  839 (9 centres)
Nuwakot  2,620 (25 centres)  2,615  2,615 (25 centres)
Dhading  Not reported  Not itemised (see note)  93 (1 centre)
Total  3,395 (34 centres)  3,390+ (37 centres)  3,547 (35 centres)

 

Dhading reappears in the holding-centre count after a three-day absence, with 1 centre —  down from 2 centres and 197 people when last itemised on 7 September. The 11:00 dashboard  gives a total of 37 centres but itemises population for only Nuwakot and Rasuwa; Dhading’s  contribution to that total cannot be confirmed from the morning round alone. Within the evening  report alone, Rasuwa rose by 64 (775→839) while Dhading fell sharply (implied around 202 fewer  than the morning’s combined figure) and the centre count fell from 37 to 35. This is more volatility  within a single day than in any prior round, and should be read as continuing consolidation and  movement rather than a stable trend.  

Relief Dispatch 

Food and non-food relief materials continue to be dispatched to affected districts by road and air,  with detail recorded in NDRRMA’s Setu App rather than itemised in this report. No relief-materials  annex accompanies SitRep #20; the extensive category-subtotalled ledger published with SitRep #09  is not repeated today.  

  1. Physical and Economic Damage Assessment 

Not restated for a sixth consecutive report. The physical damage assessment introduced on 4  September and the associated economic damage and early recovery figures remain absent from every  round since.  

  1. Coordination and Command 
  • Daily Monsoon Response Command Post meetings and Mobilization Team briefings continue.  • New: the Command Post’s 16th meeting decided to form a Resource and Need Mapping Team,  bringing together relevant ministries and departments, to bring uniformity to research and study  work in Rasuwa–Bhotekoshi flood-affected locations — the first numbered Command Post meeting  and the first named decision reported since 4 September, when the 13th meeting was similarly  numbered.  
  • NDRRMA’s Situation Room continues daily contact with each local government and ward to  prepare municipality-level Report Cards.  
  1. Ongoing Risk and Information Gaps 

Report numbering. The jump from SitRep #09 to #20 in one day is unexplained and should be  raised directly with NDRRMA; it may indicate additional reports partners have not been receiving. 

Sector sections continue to appear and disappear. Communications, Agriculture and Education  returned today after one day’s absence; the Women/Children Protection sector and the CCCM/shelter  section, both prominent yesterday, are absent today. No sector in this series has yet been reported in  every consecutive round.  

Fuel-stock and APF-flight figures in the evening dashboard should not be used. Both contradict  other same-day or adjacent-day figures in ways inconsistent with genuine change (see Sections 2 and  7).  

The health facility table is stale. It has not been updated since 9 September and should not be re circulated as current.  

Psychosocial reach has at least three non-reconciled cumulative figures in circulation (a  Nuwakot-specific 22-member/5-psychiatrist team at ~2,000; a Health Sector figure last given as 696  on 9 September; and a Protection sector figure of 3,198 on 9 September). None should be summed or  substituted for another without clarification.  

Lhende Khola dammed lake. Not mentioned for an eleventh consecutive report. This remains the  most consequential unaddressed information gap in the series.  

New hydropower site naming. Whether “Rasuwa Bhotekoshi Hydropower Project” is a genuinely  new eighth site or a naming variant of an existing one should be confirmed before it is treated as a  permanent addition to the site list tracked in this series.  

Prepared by Rural Reconstruction Nepal (RRN) • For internal and partner circulation • 10  September 2026. Figures provisional and subject to revision by NDRRMA; today’s primary source  was issued in Nepali and figures reflect RRN’s translation. USD conversions approximate, at NPR  152.4/USD. NEOC toll-free: 1234.

Skip to content